The International Exascale Software Project roadmap

8 years 2 months ago
The International Exascale Software Project roadmap
  Over the last twenty years, the open source community has provided more and more software on which the world’s High Performance Computing (HPC) systems depend for performance and productivity. The community has invested millions of dollars and years of effort to build key components. But although the investments in these separate software elements have been tremendously valuable, a great deal of productivity has also been lost because of the lack of planning, coordination, and key integration of technologies necessary to make them work together smoothly and efficiently, both within individual PetaScale systems and between different systems. It seems clear that this completely uncoordinated development model will not provide the software needed to support the unprecedented parallelism required for peta/exascale computation on millions of cores, or the flexibility required to exploit new hardware models and features, such as transactional memory, speculative execution, and GPUs. Thi...
Jack Dongarra, Peter H. Beckman, Terry Moore, Patr
Added 14 May 2011
Updated 14 May 2011
Type Journal
Year 2011
Authors Jack Dongarra, Peter H. Beckman, Terry Moore, Patrick Aerts, Giovanni Aloisio, Jean-Claude Andre, David Barkai, Jean-Yves Berthou, Taisuke Boku, Bertrand Braunschweig, Franck Cappello, Barbara M. Chapman, Xuebin Chi, Alok N. Choudhary, Sudip S. Dosanjh, Thom H. Dunning, Sandro Fiore, Al Geist, Bill Gropp, Robert J. Harrison, Mark Hereld, Michael A. Heroux, Adolfy Hoisie, Koh Hotta, Zhong Jin, Yutaka Ishikawa, Fred Johnson, Sanjay Kale, Richard Kenway, David E. Keyes, Bill Kramer, Jesús Labarta, Alain Lichnewsky, Thomas Lippert, Bob Lucas, Barney Maccabe, Satoshi Matsuoka, Paul Messina, Peter Michielse, Bernd Mohr, Matthias S. Müller, Wolfgang E. Nagel, Hiroshi Nakashima, Michael E. Papka, Daniel A. Reed, Mitsuhisa Sato, Edward Seidel, John Shalf, David Skinner, Marc Snir, Thomas L. Sterling, Rick Stevens, Fred Streitz, Bob Sugar, Shinji Sumimoto, William Tang, John Taylor, Rajeev Thakur, Anne E. Trefethen, Mateo Valero, Aad van der Steen, Jeffrey S. Vetter, Peg Williams, Robert Wisniewski, Katherine A. Yelick
Comments (0)